8 limbs

”Yoga is a scientific and systematic discipline for a successful organisation of all the energies and faculties of the integral human being with a view to attaining the highest ecstatic communion with the cosmic reality or god“ BKS Iyengar
Collated, co-ordinated and systemised by Patanjali in his classical work The Yoga Sutras, Yoga is a system consisting of eight limbs or stages. Here are the 8 limbs:
  1. Yama –  the 5 ethical principles and rules of morality for society. Ahimsa (non-violence), Satya (truth), Astaya (non-stealing) Bramacharya (continence), Aparigraha (non-coveting)
  2. Niyama – self purification: Saucha (cleanliness of the body), Santosa (contentment), Tapas (austerities), Svadhyaya (study of sacred books), Isvara pranidhana (faith)
  3. Asana – posture. Asana brings steadiness and health to the human body
  4. Pranayama – rhythmic control of the breath
  5. Pratyahara – emancipation of the mind from the domination of the senses
  6. Dharana – concentration
  7. Dhyana – meditation
  8. Samadhi – a state of super consciousness bought about by profound meditation
  • Increase your energy levels 
  • Improve your posture
  • Stretch, strengthen and tone your muscles
  • Improve your flexibility, balance and concentration 
  • Improve your circulatory, lymph and nervous systems
  • Eliminate toxins and decrease the risk of disease
  • Sleep better
  • Calm your mind
  • Create healthier choices
“Physical, mental, intellectual, spiritual health that can be attained by the practice of yoga, the method being asana and pranayama” Yoga Rahasya Compilation of articles on ‘Yoga Therapy’ 1994-2009 p.20